Loretta Lynn Announces New Album “Still Woman Enough”

Any album described as “a celebration of women in country music” would grab my attention, but when the artist releasing it is an absolute legend who wasn’t afraid to write from a woman’s perspective back in the days when that was practically unheard of then my pulse starts racing even more!
Yes, Loretta Lynn has recorded her 50th studio album (and that’s excluding her 10 studio duet collaborations with Conway Twitty!) amusingly and appropriately titled ” Still Woman Enough” which will be released by Legacy Recordings, a division of Sony Music Entertainment, on March 19th 2021. Like her previous Legacy albums, which include 2016’s Grammy Nominated “Full Circle’, it was mainly recorded at Cash Cabin Studio in Hendersonville TN, with production shared by her daughter Patsy Lynn Russell and John Carter Cash.
And it’s particularly exciting to hear that she has collaborated with some of the many female artists she has inspired over the years including Reba, Tanya Tucker, Carrie Underwood and Margo Price.
Talking about working with these ladies for the project, Loretta says ” I am just so thankful to have some of my friends join me on my new album. We girl singers gotta stick together. It’s amazing how much has happened since ‘ Coal Miner’s Daughter’ first came out and I’m extremely grateful to be given a part to play in the history of American music”.
While including Loretta’s take on American traditional music, such as paying homage to Mother Maybelle Carter and the Carter Family by covering ” Keep On The Sunny Side”, the thirteen tracks centre around Loretta’s original compositions. The title track for example is a new song she co-wrote with daughter Patsy, and there are fresh interpretations of many of the signature classics she has become known for over the years such as new versions of her own first ever single ” I’m A Honky Tonk Girl” which was originally released in March 1960 and the title track to her first No.1 Billboard Hot Country Album of 1966, “You Ain’t Woman Enough”.

The cover portrait sees Loretta wearing a newly-designed couture dress created especially for this album by her longtime dressmaker Tim Cobb. It was inspired by the original ” Coal Miner’s Daughter ” album cover, and to celebrate 50 years since the release of this landmark album which led to a string of number 1 hits in the ’70s it will be reissued on February 12th,  preorder HERE There’s so much for Loretta fans to look forwards to in the first few months of 2021! 
Still Woman Enough is available for pre-order now in in digital, CD and 12″ vinyl LP formats HERE

Loretta Lynn – Still Woman Enough Track Listing 

1.. Still Woman Enough (featuring Reba McEntire and Carrie Underwood) (Loretta Lynn and Patsy Lynn Russell ) 

2. Keep On The Sunny Side (A.P. Carter)

3. Honky Tonk Girl (Loretta Lynn)

4. I Don’t Feel At Home Any More (Traditional, arrangement by Loretta Lynn)

5. Old Kentucky Home (Stephen Foster and Loretta Lynn)

6. Coal Miner’s Daughter Recitation (Loretta Lynn)

7. One’s On The Way (featuring Margo Price (Shel Silverstein)

8. I Wanna Be Free (Loretta Lynn)

9. Where No One Stands Alone (Lister Mosie)

10. I’ll Be All Smiles Tonight (T.B. Ransom)

11. I Saw The Light (Hank Williams)

12. My Love (Loretta Lynn)

13. You Ain’t Woman Enough (featuring Tanya Tucker) (Loretta Lynn)

LORETTA LYNN: Website / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / 

Article written by Lesley Hastings (twitter.com/lesleyhastings)

Share this product!