AMA-UK 2022 Award Nominees Announced

Two people stood on a stage with a card in hand announcing the 2022 AMA UK award nominees

The characterful setting of South London’s Omeara was host to the Americana-UK’s press launch for the nominations for the annual awards, to be presented at the AMA_UK Music Week Awards Show on 27th January 2022.

Introduced by AMA-UK CEO Steve Smith, the nominations were announced by Diana Jones, and Emma Swift, standing in for Baylen Leonard, who has returned from Tennessee with Covid, but reports that he is well.

Following the nominations attendees enjoyed live music from Diana Jones, Emma Swift, Danny George Wilson, and Lauren Housley, who closed the session with a fine rendition with her band of Little Feats’ ‘Willin’.

The full list of nominations is:

International Lifetime Achievement Award —Lucinda Williams.

Trailblazer Award —Beth Orton.

International Trailblazer Award —The Long Ryders.

Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award —Lauren Housley.

Best Selling Americana Album —the 2022 recipient will be announced in January.

Grass Roots Award —Tom Bridgewater from Loose Music, Independent Record Label.

Speaking of her award, Lucinda Williams said: “I am so honoured to be the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Americana Music Association UK. Coming now, at the end of a rollercoaster year and a half of both the professional challenges that weve all faced as well as a serious personal health issue.  Let me just say that it feels especially rewarding. This past year and a half has definitely not been all bad as with any rollercoaster ride,  there are peaks. I had so much fun working on my Jukebox series and the fact that it has been so well embraced in the UK is very special. One of the most disappointing things on the other hand was that we lost multiple planned trips  to the UK, so I cant wait to get back whenever we get back to some sense of normalcy. Thank you so much for this Award! You have no idea how much this means to me right now.”

Beth Orton said I am thrilled be recognised as a trailblazer by the board of the Americana Music Association. Classic Americana songwriters from Glen Campbell and Emmylou Harris to Lucinda Williams and John Prine have always been songwriters I hold in the highest esteem. I have drawn inspiration from the wellspring of that timeless music and to have that acknowledged means a great deal to me.
The Long Ryders commented: The Long Ryders are thrilled to the gills at receiving the International Trailblazer Award from our friends at Americana Music Association UK. We truly are honoured at being noticed by such a distinguished crowd and cannot wait for the big night in January. This is complete proof of the old saying, “you stick around long enough you become respectable and admired!“.

Voting on the following categories is now open to AMA-UK members:

UK Album of the Year

  • Click Click Domino by Ida Mae (produced by Christopher Turpin)
  • Good Woman by The Staves (produced by John Congleton)
  • The Wandering Hearts by The Wandering Hearts (produced by Simone Felice, David Baron, Mike Mogis and The Wandering Hearts)
  • Stand For Myself by Yola (produced by Dan Auerbach)

International Album of the Year

  • Wary + Strange by Amythyst Kiah (produced by Tony Berg and Amythyst Kiah)
  • Outside Child by Allison Russell (produced by Dan Knobler)
  • Arrivals by Declan O’Rourke (produced by Paul Weller)
  • Tasjan! Tasjan! Tasjan! by Aaron Lee Tasjan (produced by Aaron Lee Tasjan and Gregory Lattimer)

UK Song of the Year

  • This Ain’t The Life by Lauren Housley (written by Lauren Housley)
  • Eye to Eye by John Smith feat. Sarah Jarosz (written by John Smith and Sarah Siskind)
  • Latchkey by Memorial (written by Jack Watts and Oliver Spalding)
  • Willing by Lady Nade (written by Lady Nade)

International Song of the Year

  • Never Said A Word by Judy Blank & Dylan Earl (written by Judy Blank & Dylan Earl)
  • Sweet Misery by Tré Burt (written by Tré Burt)
  • Right on Time by Brandi Carlile (written by Brandi Carlile, Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth)
  • Jeremiah by Sierra Ferrell (written by Sierra Ferrell)

UK Artist of the Year

  • Elles Bailey
  • The Staves
  • John Smith
  • Yola

International Artist of the Year

  • Rhiannon Giddens
  • Amythyst Kiah
  • Allison Russell
  • Taylor Swift

UK Instrumentalist of the Year

  • Thomas Dibb
  • Joe Harvey-Whyte
  • Mark Lewis
  • Michele Stoda
Share this product!