Jessie Buckley Performs Lead Single from Fundraising Album “Song Club”

When Hannah Grace Deller, a nurse working on the frontline in these particularly challenging times for all NHS staff, had her photographic work documenting her experiences featured on the Channel 4 programme ” Grayson’s Art Club” little did she know what it would spark. It grabbed the attention of Chris Difford, the Squeeze co-founder and award winning lyricist who contacted several of his songwriting friends and asked them to each use one of Hannah’s photographs ( including the one shown here )  as inspiration for a new song. The result is the album “Song Club”, which will be released on October 23rd, proceeds going to the Royal College of Nursing Foundation COVID-19 Support Fund. 

” Songwriters have been in lockdown like everyone else and collectively we have dark stages and an unsure future regarding live performances, so this has been something to focus on by way of embracing the amazing work of the NHS and frontline workers” says Difford, continuing ” My aim is to document this strange time we are living in and I hope bring inspiring songs to the ears of many”. 
The artists involved in the project come from a wide variety of musical genres, and as you will see from the track listing below include several familiar names from the world of country/americana. Indeed the lead single “Working On The Frontline”  released last Friday, is performed by Wild Rose actress and singer Jessie Buckley and her band (“Jessie and the Leonards”). Written by Kate St John and Neil MacColl it also features Hannah herself on vocals, a song which blends a very cool bluesy country vibe with Hannah’s particularly thought provoking rap section. Jessie’s lead vocals and the background harmonies are absolutely stunning, the song perfectly painting a vivid and often harrowing picture of the daily challenges which face NHS workers, particularly but also not exclusively at the moment. ….” when this thing is gone we will keep on keeping on ‘cos we have been here all along, we’re always working on the frontline” she sings toward the end. 
Hannah says of the project “I hope that the voices of all the unsung heroes, their efforts and sacrifices are heard in this music. For me this record is a thank you to all my colleagues on the frontline, from the porters & domestics, to the doctors and nurses, I’ll never forget how we all stood side-by-side on the frontline fighting this illness together.”  
Stream/Download ” Working On The Frontline” here
Pre-save/Pre-Order ” Song Club” here 
Song Club Track Listing 
1 Working On The Frontline – Jessie & The Leonards (featuring Hannah Grace Deller) 
2 For Us – Judie Tzuke 
3 Find a Way – Sara Douga & Gregor Philp 
4 Sunday – Julia Fordham 
5 Code Sunshine – Kimmie Rhodes 
6 Bittersweet – Komal 
7 Sick of the Sight of You – Bill Lloyd (featuring Beth Nielsen Chapman) 
8 We Can Breathe – Nick Heyward 
9 Invisible Smile – Beth Nielsen Chapman 
10 I See You – Graham Gouldman 
11 It Has To Be Done – Judith Owen 
12 If It Wasn’t For You – William Rees 
13 These Times….Again – Robert Vincent 
14 Hope We All Deserve – Roisin Donald & Mairéad Carlin
15 Hannah Takes Pictures – Kathryn Williams 
16 Six Degrees – Hannah Grace Deller 
17 Save Us All – Jeff Goldford and Jeff Cohen
18 Rehashtag the World – Ruby Dew 
19 Still With You – Mairéad Carlin & Ronan Scolard 
20 All Ashore – Charlie Wood 
Article written by Lesley Hastings (
Share this product!