Reba McEntire Album News!

It’s always extra exciting for me when a country legend announces that new music is on the way! As a huge fan of traditional country music, which has of course influenced so many of the more contemporary country artists, I can’t wait to hear the upcoming Reba McEntire album ” Stronger Than The Truth” which sees its release via Big Machine Records on April 5th, nearly a year since she spoke of this new project during a red carpet interview at the  2018 ACM awards.

Recorded in Nashville, Reba took a very much hands on approach on this, her 29th studio album, co-producing the project alongside Buddy Cannon and co-writing two of the tracks, including the fun western – swing dancehall number ” No U In Oklahoma” which is available to download immediately on pre-order. Looks like she had a lot of fun in the studio recording this one if this video is anything to go by!

Reba describes ” Stronger Than The Truth” as being ” the most country record I’ve done in a long time” , and judging by the title track which was the first taste of what we could expect she’s not kidding! Co-written by her niece its a total tearjerker of a ballad, in which she sings of inadvertently finding out about her husband’s infidelity while standing in line at the grocery store….. “there’s no whiskey stronger than there truth”.

To further whet our appetite there’s been a new track made available on all streaming services each Friday since, my personal favourite to date being another heart wrenching ballad “Tammy Wynette Kind Of Pain” , a song co-written by Brandy Clark, Mark Narmore and Shelly Skidmore which cleverly incorporates many of Tammy’s best known song titles into the lyrics . I love how it starts with stripped back piano accompaniment, highlighting the vulnerability and hurt in Reba’s ever beautiful voice, and builds both instrumentally ( just listen to that steel!) and vocally as the track progresses.

A multi award winner herself, of course, Reba celebrate her album release two days later at the 2019 ACM awards in Las Vegas where she returns as host. She has announced a string of tour dates across the States including six in Vegas alongside Brooks and Dunn, all details and album pre-order bundles can be found at
I’m sure I’m not the only UK fan hoping this country icon makes a trip to visit us in the near future too|!

Stronger Than the Truth Track Listing:

1. Swing All Night Long With You | Written by Sidney Cox, Jon Randall
2. Stronger Than The Truth | Written by Hannah Louise Blaylock, Autumn McEntire
3. Storm In A Shot Glass | Written by Mary Browder, Will Robinson, Leslie Satcher
4. Tammy Wynette Kind Of Pain | Written by Brandy Clark, Mark Narmore, Shelley Skidmore
5. Cactus In A Coffee Can | Written by Steve Seskin, Allen Shamblin
6. Your Heart | Written by Kellys Collins
7. The Clown | Written by Dallas Davidson, Hillary Lindsey, James Slater
8. No U In Oklahoma | Written by Reba McEntire, Ronnie Dunn, Donna McSpadden
9. The Bar’s Getting Lower | Written by Kellys Collins, Erin Enderlin, Liz Hengber, Alex Kline
10. In His Mind | Written by Reba McEntire, Liz Hengber, Tommy Lee James
11. Freedom | Written by Jay Brunswick, Tommy Cecil, Jaida Dreyer, John Pierce
12. You Never Gave Up On Me | Written by Billy Aerts, Burton Collins

Article written by Lesley Hastings (

One thought on “Reba McEntire Album News!

  • March 17, 2019 at 9:50 pm

    I am so proud of GCMA’S Ambassador Lesley Hastings ???

Comments are closed.

Share this product!