Kalie Shorr Releases Brand New Single ‘Lullaby’ From Upcoming Debut Album

Today (30th August) marks the release of a brand new single from Nashville artist Kalie Shorr. The track titled ‘Lullaby’ is taken from her upcoming debut album ‘Open Book’ set for release on 27th September. Craig Brooks gives us his thoughts on the new track.

‘Lullaby’ is the result of Kalie wanting to put to rest the emotions and feelings that followed the end of a 6 year relationship. Kalie has always been exceptionally good at seamlessly blending her love of emo and pop whilst keeping country at the heart of what she does. The song begins with a slower pace and giving the feel of it being a beautiful ballad however I don’t think it would be correct to describe the song as a ballad. The slow build explodes into a catchy and anthemic chorus which I think is very much a trademark of Kalie’s. The pacing of the song and the lyrical excellence of Kalie really helps put you in her head space as she’s working through her feelings at the beginning of the song, leading to the earlier mentioned chorus which is an extremely satisfying point of realising she is moving on from those feelings.

Kalie is a fantastic story teller and is good at writing songs about tough times or difficult situations whilst managing to make it uplifting like she has done with ‘Lullaby’. Another big strength of Kalie’s is that fantastic connection with her fans and how much they’re able to relate to her and her music and I have no doubts that ‘Lullaby’ is going to resonate with every listener.

The track list for ‘Open Book’ is as follows:-

1. “Too Much to Say” (Kalie Shorr, Robyn Collins and Ian Christian)
2. “Escape” (Kalie Shorr and Candi Carpenter)
3. “Messy” (Kalie Shorr, Jonny Shorr and Katie Stump)
4. “The One” (Kalie Shorr, Skip Black and Savannah Keyes)
5. “F U Forever” (Kalie Shorr, Candi Carpenter and Annie Wildgen)
6. “Alice in Wonderland” (Kalie Shorr and Candi Carpenter)
7. “The World Keeps Spinning” (Kalie Shorr, Skip Black and Robyn Collins)
8. “Big Houses” (Kalie Shorr, Skip Black and Savannah Keyes)
9. “Gatsby” (Kalie Shorr, Skip Black and Candi Carpenter)
10. “Thank God You’re a Man” (Kalie Shorr, John Caldwell and Robyn Collins)
11. “Vices” (Kalie Shorr, John Caldwell and Robyn Collins)
12. “Lullaby” (Kalie Shorr, Robyn Collins and Will Stone)
13. “Angry Butterfly” (Kalie Shorr, Simon Reid and Fred Wilhelm)

Review written by Craig Brooks (https://twitter.com/swindonforever)

Share this product!