Gillian Welch To Release Three Albums Of “Lost Songs”

I love it when artists dig deep into their musical archives and come up with unreleased gems! This is exactly what Nashville-based , Grammy nominated , singer/songwriter Gillian Welch has been busy doing, resulting in the announcement that she has unearthed enough material for not one but three new albums or as they will be called, ” volumes”. Produced by her long-time collaborator Dave Rawlings, they are to be to be released digitally via Acony Records, the independent label the pair founded in 2001, under the umbrella name of ” Boots No. 2 : The Lost Songs”. Volume 1 has a release date of July 31st ( and is available to pre order now) with the following two volumes to follow in the next few months, their 48 songs having been unearthed from a cache of home demos and reel-to-reel recordings. The first two songs from Volume 1, “Strange Isabella ” and ” Mighty Good Book” have already been made available , the latter getting an exclusive first play last Thursday by Bob Harris on his BBC Radio 2 country music show.

This series follows on from the couple’s 2016 release ” Boots No.1: The Official Revival Bootleg” , a double album of unreleased alternate versions and outtakes from the making of their 1996 , T-Bone Burnett produced debut album ” Revival” ….. most recently they released ” All The Good Times”, an album of ten acoustic covers of songs which they love.
Speaking about the upcoming albums, Gillian and Dave say ” We stashed these recordings away years ago. Their shortcomings, real or imagined, technical or compositional, no longer seem bothersome today. Hearing them now is like seeing snapshots that captured moments the more formal portraits missed. So here we are hurrying them for release before the next tornado blows the whole shoebox away”.

Boots No. 2 :The Lost Songs Vol. 1 Track listing
1. Johnny Dear
2. First Place Ribbon
3. Give That Man A Road
4. Mighty Good Book
5. Chinatown
6. Fly Down
7. Shotgun Song
8. Apalachicola
9. Strange Isabella
10. Little Luli
11. Valley of Tears
12. Blind On The Inside
13.Back Turn And Swing
14. Roll On
15.Honey Baby
16. Here Come The News

Share this product!