Brandy Clark To Release Self-Titled Album, Produced By Brandi Carlile , May 19th. Lead Single “Buried” Out Now

And just like that, with no prior teasers, 11-time Grammy nominated singer/songwriter Brandy Clark dropped the lead single “Buried” from her highly anticipated new album last Friday (Click HERE to view visual) . Co-written with her long time collaborator and friend Jessie-Jo Dillon, the song is a stunning declaration of undying love and the vulnerability in Brandy’s vocals can’t fail to tug at your heart strings. Coupled with the announcement at the same time that the self-titled project will be released on May 19th via Warner Records and has been produced by Brandi Carlile, it’s the news her loyal worldwide fan base have been patiently (or not!) waiting for. Brandy says “When Brandi Carlile approached me about producing my next record, I was both flattered and intrigued… I’ve never been so inspired, so challenged and so revealed as an artist as I am on this project. That’s why the only thing I can call this album is ‘Brandy Clark’. Thank you Brandi Carlile for helping me discover, remember and share so many parts of myself“.
The album (including a signed CD) is available to pre-order/ pre-save HERE .
It will be the fourth album from the Washington native, one of her generation’s most respected songwriters who of course had cuts by the likes of The Band Perry (“Better Dig Two“) Kacey Musgraves (“Follow Your Arrow“) and Miranda Lambert (“Mama’s Broken Heart“) before releasing her own debut album “12 Stories” in 2013.
Recorded in Malibu, CA at the legendary Shangri-La studio, the eleven-tracks on the upcoming album are set to span the emotional spectrum and feature the most raw and intimate recordings of the CMA winner’s career.
Talking about the project, Brandy shares, “This album is a return home to me in many ways. Musically it’s the rawest I’ve been since 12 Stories and maybe even rawer. When Brandi and I sat down and talked about working together, one thing that really intrigued me was her saying ‘I see it as your return to the northwest.’ (Since the two of us are both from Washington state). That comment inspired so much for me. It took me back to where and how I grew up. ‘Northwest’ and ‘She Smoked In The House’ were both a result of that early conversation. Working with another recording artist on this project was such a gift that I didn’t even know I needed and changed the way I want to write songs and make records moving forward. My hope is that anyone who hears this album will feel the heart that I put into every note of it.

9-time Grammy winning Brandi adds, “Brandy is one of the greatest songwriters I’ve ever known. And I feel like I now know exactly who Brandy Clark is through the portal of this singular brilliantly written album. When I heard the songs for this album, they took me back to the first time I heard Car Wheels on a Gravel Road. I was thinking about Tom Petty, The Pretenders, Kim Richey, Sheryl Crow, Shelby Lynne and the soul of 90s Americana before it had a name. Brandy’s voice is like a friend you’ve had your whole life the second you hear it. I know I’m not alone in feeling this way. This is her moment. This is the one. Sometimes an artist only gets one shot at an album like this in their life. This is the time Brandy has chosen to reveal herself to the world as an artist and a woman and I was blessed beyond measure to be the person she trusted to support and facilitate that swan dive.”
In addition to Clark and Carlile, the album includes special guests Derek Trucks and Lucius as well as Matt Chamberlain on drums, Sebastian Steinberg on bass, Dave Palmer on piano, Jedd Hughes on guitar, Kyleen King on viola, Josh Neumann on cello, Sista Strings (aka Monique and Chauntee Ross) on cello and violin, Steve Fishell on pedal steel and Jay Carlile on background vocals and harmonica. See track listing below.

Moreover, adding to her solo work, Clark, together with longtime collaborator Shane McAnally, composed the music for the upcoming Broadway music comedy, Shucked, which is set to open April 4 at New York’s Nederlander Theatre.

More artist information at

” Brandy Clark” Track List :
01 “Ain’t Enough Rocks” (Feat. Derek Trucks)
02 “Buried”
03 “Tell Her You Don’t Love Her” (Feat. Lucius)
04 “Dear Insecurity” (Feat. Brandi Carlile)
05 “Come Back To Me”
06 “Northwest”
07 “She Smoked In The House”
08 “Up Above The Clouds – Cecilia’s Song”
09 “All Over Again”
10 “Best Ones”
11 “Take Mine”

Article written by Lesley Hastings (

Share this product!