The Wandering Hearts Release New Single “Gold” From Upcoming Sophomore Album

Getting its world exclusive first play by Bob Harris on his BBC Radio 2 country music show last week, “Gold” is the latest single from UK’s The Wandering Hearts. And the band have also just announced that after several (inevitable at the moment!) delays, their self-titled sophomore album is finally due for release on July 30th, their first under a new deal with Cooking Vinyl.
The trio headed deep into the Catskill Mountains to Woodstock, New York, at the start of 2020 to work on the follow up to their critically acclaimed debut “Wild Silence” . The album not only shot them to the forefront of the UK American/folk scene but also attracted the attention of the legendary Marty Stuart. A personal invitation from Marty led to them becoming the first British band to make their US debut at Nashville’s iconic Ryman Auditorium and then play the Grand Ole Opry in the same week… incidentally Marty Stuart wrote and performed on the track “Dreams” which is included on the new album.
Working with producers Simone Felice and David Baron, the upcoming album is record that celebrates life, new beginnings and striving to shine through a darkening world, something “Gold” demonstrates so well. Talking about the new single, the band says “‘Gold’ stemmed from the idea of something becoming more beautiful after being broken. We had chatted about the Japanese art form kintsugi, which repairs pottery with lacquer mixed with gold. This was the perfect imagery for what we were writing about… ‘Gold’ feels even more connected and poignant now, after a year of so much loss and everyone just trying to survive” .
The song’s accompanying video was directed and shot by Jackson Ducasse (Dua Lipa, JC Stewart) and filmed in the Northampton countryside. It sees The Wandering Hearts surrounded by beauty and nature, perfectly complementing the sentiment of the song.

The upcoming album will also feature “Over Your Body” , released as a single last year, and will be available on CD, vinyl and cassette as well as via download. It’s available to pre-order here  which includes a link to the band’s official store where you can find exclusive signed bundles including t-shirts, a limited edition cream LP and gold cassette. Their long awaited intimate “in Harmony”  headline tour has been rescheduled from April to August/September 2020 with many dates already sold out, more details at
” The Wandering Hearts”  Track List 
1. Hammer Falls
2. Over Your Body
3. Build A Fire
4. I Feel It Too
5. Gold
6. Dolores
7. Dreams
8. Never Too Late
9. Tell Me When I Wake Up
10. On Our Way
11. Stardust
12. Lullaby.
Article written by Lesley Hastings (
Share this product!